2022—2023

Anthony Grafton

History, Princeton University

Anthony Grafton teaches European intellectual history at Princeton University, where he has worked since 1975. He took his doctorate at the University of Chicago, and studied with Arnaldo Momigliano at University College London. At Princeton he has served as director of the Program in European Studies and the Davis Center for Historical Research. In the Wintersemester 1998-9 he served as Warburg Professor at the Hamburg Warburg Haus.

Grafton’s research deals with the history of science and scholarship in early modern Europe, the history of books and readers and the history of education—especially the history of knowledge-making practices, usually based on archival research in sources ranging from scholars’ marginalia and notebooks to their correspondence. A typical product of his efforts was the first history of historians’ footnotes, which he researched in the Ranke archive in Berlin and which was first published in German, as Die tragischen Ursprünge der deutschen Fussnote (Berlin Verlag, 1995).

At HIAS, Grafton will continue to work on a study of early modern European efforts to trace the early history of Christianity. In it he examines the editing and interpretation of texts, the study of objects and sites, the composition of the first modern histories of Christianity, and scholars’ efforts to understand the relations between Judaism and early Christianity, all as carried out from the fifteenth to the eighteenth century.

His collaboration partners are Markus Friedrich, professor for Early Modern History at Universität Hamburg and Dr. Lisa Schwab from Unviersität Hamburg as well.

Anthony Grafton’s HIAS Fellowship is provided by the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the federal and state funds acquired by Universität Hamburg in the framework of its Excellence Strategy.

Website

Anthony Grafton 

Funding

Universität Hamburg

Collaboration Partners

Markus Friedrich, professor for Early Modern History, Universität Hamburg.

Lisa Schwab, History, Universität Hamburg

 

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information

2022—2023

Anthony Grafton

Geschichte, Princeton University

Anthony Grafton lehrt europäische Geistesgeschichte an der Princeton University, wo er seit 1975 tätig ist. Er promovierte an der University of Chicago und studierte bei Arnaldo Momigliano am University College London. In Princeton war er Direktor des Programms für European Studies und des Davis Center for Historical Research. Im Wintersemester 1998-9 war er als Warburg-Professor am Warburg Haus in Hamburg tätig.

Graftons Forschungen befassen sich mit der Wissenschaftsgeschichte im Europa der Frühen Neuzeit, der Geschichte des Buches und seiner Leserschaft sowie mit der Geschichte der Wissensproduktion, die er auf Grundlage von Archivrecherchen von Marginalien und Notizbüchern bis hin zu Korrespondenzen untersucht. Ein typisches Produkt seiner Forschung ist die erste Geschichte der Fußnoten von Historiker:innen, die er im Ranke-Archiv in Berlin recherchierte und die erstmals auf Deutsch unter dem Titel Die tragischen Ursprünge der deutschen Fußnote (Berlin Verlag, 1995) veröffentlicht wurde.

Als HIAS-Fellow wird Anthony Grafton an einer Studie über die frühneuzeitlichen europäischen Bemühungen, die frühe Geschichte des Christentums nachzuzeichnen, fortsetzen. Darin untersucht er die Herausgabe und Interpretation von Texten, die Untersuchung von Objekten und Stätten, die Beschaffenheiten der ersten modernen Geschichten des Christentums und die Bemühungen der Gelehrt:innen, die Beziehungen zwischen Judentum und frühem Christentum zu verstehen, und zwar vom fünfzehnten bis zum achtzehnten Jahrhundert.

Sein Tandempartner ist Markus Friedrich, Geschichte der Frühen Neuzeit der Universität Hamburg.

Anthony Grafton’s HIAS-Fellowship wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) sowie der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie von Bund und Ländern der Universität Hamburg finanziert.

Tandempartnerin

Markus Friedrich, Professor für Geschichte der Frühen Neuzeit, Universität Hamburg

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen