The Hamburg Institute for Advanced Study (HIAS) hosts outstanding scholars and researchers, as well as representatives of both the visual and the performing arts, who will find an interdisciplinary space of research and exchange in Hamburg, Germany.

HIAS promotes scholarship and research in the fields of the Humanities and Social Sciences, Life Sciences, Natural Sciences, Engineering and the Arts. It was founded in January 2019 by a group of top higher education institutions:

HIAS appoints outstanding scholars and artists from all parts of the world who are granted full freedom to pursue their own research projects under excellent conditions on-site in Hamburg.

Starting in October 2020, HIAS aims to enable scholars and researchers as well as artists of distinction a space of intellectual freedom, entirely unimpeded by their usual professional duties, in which to pursue their own projects.

The appointment of fellows is conducted both via calls for application as well as via personal address by members of the Institute’s Executive Committee.

HIAS seeks to compose a cohort of fellows that, in respect to its members’ academic or artistic disciplines, countries of origin and career stages, is as diverse and stimulating as possible. HIAS attaches particular importance to the promotion of promising emergent early career researchers.

Integration Into the Hamburg Research Infrastructure

Utmost Freedom and Flexibility


Services for Families

Library Network

Working Facilities

Financial Arrangements

Reaching Out to the City’s Public

HIAS and its fellows reach out to the city's public through targeted events. In cooperation with the Körber Foundation, HIAS has launched in 2017 the annual conference “Hamburger Horizonte”, which offers the opportunity to engage with the Hamburg public in a conversation about new scholarly and scientific findings in a social context.
In order to encourage a continuous exchange of the fellows amongst each other as well as with the local scientific community, HIAS will conduct lectures and symposia for interested members of the public regarding research questions and findings gained by the HIAS fellows.


Board of Members

Prof. Dr. Hendrik Brinksma (chairman)
President of the Hamburg University of Technology

Prof. Martin Köttering
President of Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Prof. E.h. Edwin J. Kreuzer
President of the Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Dieter Lenzen
President of Universität Hamburg

Dr. Anna Neubauer (Secretary-General)
Chancellor of Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg

Executive Committee

Spokesperson of the Executive Committee
Professor Dr. Frank Fehrenbach

Frank Fehrenbach is a professor in the Department of Art History at Universität Hamburg, a position that arose from his appointment to an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship in 2013. From 2005 to 2013, he was professor at Harvard University. Since 2018 he has served as co-speaker for the Centre for Advanced Studies “Imaginaria of Force” at Universität Hamburg.
Frank Fehrenbach received his PhD from the University of Tübingen in 1995 and his habilitation from the University of Basel in 2003.

Professor Dr. Lorraine Daston

Lorraine Daston has been a member of the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science since 1995 and served as its director until 2019. She is a regular visiting professor on the Committee on Social Thought at the University of Chicago and honorary professor of the history of science at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.
Lorraine Daston received her PhD in the history of science from Harvard University in 1979 and has taught at Harvard, Princeton, Brandeis and Göttingen universities, among others.

Professor Dr. Jörg Hacker

Jörg Hacker served as president of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina from 2010 to 2020 and was president of the Robert Koch Institute from 2008 to 2010. From 2003 to 2009 he served as vice president of the German Research Foundation (DFG).
After receiving his PhD in biology from the University of Halle in 1979 and his habilitation from the University of Würzburg, Jörg Hacker was appointed professor of microbiology at Würzburg in 1988.

Professor Dr. Margret Wintermantel

Margret Wintermantel served as president of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) from 2012 to 2019 and as president of the German Rectors’ Conference from 2006 to 2012. She was president of Saarland University from 2002 to 2006.
After studying psychology and journalism at Mainz University, Margret Wintermantel received her PhD in 1972 and her habilitation in psychology from the University of Heidelberg in 1986. In 1992, she was appointed professor of social psychology at Saarland University.

Administrative Office

Dr. Anna Neubauer

Sonja Gräber-Magocsi, PhD
Academic and Administrative Coordination
Tel.: +4940 428 38 - 4475

Dr. Astrid Bothmann-Lucko
Academic and Administrative Coordination
Tel.: +4940 428 38 - 2193