Board of Members

Prof. Dr. Andreas Timm-Giel (Chairman)
President of Hamburg University of Technology

Prof. Martin Köttering
President of Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Mojib Latif
President of the Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Hauke Heekeren
President of Universität Hamburg

Dr. Dorothea Rüland
Secretary-General of HIAS

Executive Committee

Frank Fehrenbach is a professor in the Department of Art History at Universität Hamburg, a position that arose from his appointment to an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship in 2013. From 2005 to 2013, he was professor at Harvard University. Since 2018 he has served as co-speaker for the Centre for Advanced Studies “Imaginaria of Force” at Universität Hamburg.Frank Fehrenbach received his PhD from the University of Tübingen in 1995 and his habilitation from the University of Basel in 2003.

Lorraine Daston has been a member of the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science since 1995 and served as its director until 2019. She is a regular visiting professor on the Committee on Social Thought at the University of Chicago and honorary professor of the history of science at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Lorraine Daston received her PhD in the history of science from Harvard University in 1979 and has taught at Harvard, Princeton, Brandeis and Göttingen University, among others.

Jörg Hacker served as president of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina from 2010 to 2020 and was president of the Robert Koch Institute from 2008 to 2010. From 2003 to 2009 he served as vice president of the German Research Foundation (DFG).
After receiving his PhD in biology from the University of Halle in 1979 and his habilitation from the University of Würzburg, Jörg Hacker was appointed professor of microbiology at Würzburg in 1988.

Margret Wintermantel served as president of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) from 2012 to 2019 and as president of the German Rectors’ Conference from 2006 to 2012. She was president of Saarland University from 2002 to 2006.After studying psychology and journalism at Mainz University, Margret Wintermantel received her PhD in 1972 and her habilitation in psychology from the University of Heidelberg in 1986. In 1992, she was appointed professor of social psychology at Saarland University.

Advisory Council

Prof. Dr. Frank Allgöwer, University of Stuttgart

Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Bronfen, University of Zurich / New York University

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Leena Kaarina Bruckner-Tuderman, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Thomas Christensen, University of Chicago
Music and Musicology

Prof. Dr. Ruth Durrer, University of Geneva

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Lars P. Feld, Walter Eucken Institute Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Alexander Klar, Director of the Hamburger Kunsthalle
(as spokesman of a committee consisting of the heads of various Hamburg art and cultural institutions)

Prof. Dr. Hans-Jürgen Papier, LMU München

Prof. Dr. Peter Scholze, University of Bonn

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Stichweh, University of Bonn
Social Sciences

Administrative Office

Dr. Dorothea Rüland
phone: +49 40 428 38 – 4033

Dr. Astrid Bothmann-Lucko
-on parental leave-

Dr. Ulrike Dorfmüller
International Relations
Tel.: +49 40 36 11 11 55

Sonja Gräber-Magocsi, PhD
Deputy Secretary-General
Fellow Management
Academic Coordination
phone: +49 40 428 38 – 4475

Angelina Isaak
Administrative Assistance
phone: +49 40 428 38 -4038

Tanja Kruse Brandão
Public Relations and Events
phone: +49 40 428 38 – 6795

Lola Mense
Fellow Management
Academic Coordination
phone: +49 40 428 38 – 2193

Dr. Stefanie Seewald
phone: +49 40 428 38 -4049

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information