2022—2023

Amy Padula

Reproductive Medicine, University of California, San Francisco

Amy Padula is an Associate Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences at the University of California, San Francisco with the Program for Reproductive Health and the Environment. She received her Ph.D. in Epidemiology from the University of California, Berkeley, and was a postdoctoral scholar at Stanford University in the Department of Pediatrics.

As an environmental and perinatal epidemiologist, Amy Padula’s research examines environmental exposures during pregnancy and their effects on pregnancy outcomes including preterm birth, birth defects, fetal growth and maternal conditions. Her expertise is maternal and child health resulting from exposures during pregnancy to air pollution (most recently wildfire smoke) and endocrine disrupting chemicals. She also examines social factors including neighborhood socioeconomic status and psychosocial stress that can amplify the effects of environmental exposures.

During her fellowship she will work with the PRINCE Cohort, a pregnancy study in Hamburg led by Dr. Petra Arck, where they follow pregnant women and their children and measure health outcomes. She will quantify per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances in maternal blood and determine if levels of these chemicals affect children’s immune systems as measured by vaccine responses.

Her collaboration partner is Petra Arck, professor of Experimental Fetomaternal Medicine at Universität Hamburg.

Amy Padula’s HIAS Fellowship is funded by the Joachim Herz Foundation.

Website

Amy Padula

 

Funding

Joachim Herz Foundation

Collaboration Partner

Petra Arck, professor of Experimental Fetomaternal Medicine, University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (Universität Hamburg)

Identifikation 33207968 © Artem Rastorguev | Dreamstime.com

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information

2022—2023

Amy Padula

Reproduktionsmedizin, University of California San Francisco

Amy Padula ist außerordentliche Professorin für Geburtshilfe, Gynäkologie und Reproduktionswissenschaften an der Universität von Kalifornien, San Francisco, im Rahmen des dortigen Programms für Reproduktionsgesundheit und Umwelt. Sie promovierte in Epidemiologie an der University of California, Berkeley, und war Postdoktorandin in der Abteilung für Pädiatrie der Stanford University.

Als Umweltepidemiologin und Perinatalepidemiologin untersucht Amy Padula Umwelteinflüsse während der Schwangerschaft sowie deren Auswirkungen auf Schwangerschaftsergebnisse wie Frühgeburten, Geburtsfehler, fötales Wachstum und mütterliche Erkrankungen. Ihr Fachgebiet ist die Gesundheit von Müttern und Kindern, die während der Schwangerschaft durch Luftverschmutzung (zuletzt durch Waldbrandrauch) und endokrin wirksame Chemikalien belastet werden. Sie untersucht auch soziale Faktoren wie den sozioökonomischen Status der Nachbarschaft und psychosozialen Stress, die die Auswirkungen von Umweltbelastungen verstärken können.

Im Zuge ihres Fellowships wird sie mit der PRINCE-Kohorte zusammenarbeiten, einer von Prof. Dr. Petra Arck geleiteten Schwangerschaftsstudie in Hamburg, bei der schwangere Frauen und ihre Kinder beobachtet und die gesundheitlichen Folgen gemessen werden. Amy Padula wird Per- und Polyfluoralkylsubstanzen im mütterlichen Blut quantifizieren und feststellen, ob sich die Konzentration dieser Chemikalien auf das Immunsystem der Kinder auswirkt, was anhand von Impfstoffreaktionen gemessen wird.

Ihre Kooperationspartnerin ist Petra Arck, Professorin für Experimentelle Fetomaternale Medizin am Universitätsklinikum Eppendorf der Universität Hamburg.

Das HIAS-Fellowship von Amy Padula wird von der Joachim Herz Stiftung finanziert.

Website

Amy Padula

 

Finanzierung

Joachim Herz Stiftung

Tandempartnerin

Petra Arck, Professorin für Experimentelle Fetomaternale Medizin, Universitätsklinikum Eppendorf (Universität Hamburg)

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen