2020—2021

Anna Katharina Schaffner

Cultural History, University of Kent

Anna Katharina Schaffner is a Professor of Cultural History at the University of Kent, a literary critic and an author (The Truth about Julia, Allen & Unwin, 2016).

In her monograph Exhaustion: A History (Columbia University Press, 2016), she argues that human beings have always both struggled with exhaustion and have been afraid of its social as well as of its personal impact. The explanatory models of exhaustion have repeatedly been associated with criticism on culture and technology, as can be witnessed in the current debate on burnout. Through its historical contextualization, the representation of exhaustion in the media as well as the way in which human beings reflect upon present-day experiences of burnout, stress and chronic fatigue has changed.

During her stay at HIAS, Anna Katharina Schaffner plans to complete her monograph Self-Improvement: A Global History, in which she states that self-improvement is a basic human need. Her tandem partner is Sighard Neckel, Professor at the Department of Society and Social Change Studies of the University of Hamburg, where he also serves as co-director of the Humanities Center for Advanced Studies “Futures of Sustainability”.

Anna Katharina Schaffner’s HIAS Fellowship is funded by the ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius.

Website

Anna Katharina Schaffner

Funding

ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius

Tandem

Prof. Dr. Sighard Neckel, Professor at the Department of Society and Social Change Studies of the University of Hamburg, co-director of the Humanities Center for Advanced Studies “Futures of Sustainability”.

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information

Anna Katharina Schaffner
2020—2021

Anna Katharina Schaffner

Professorin für Kulturgeschichte

University of Kent

Anna Katharina Schaffner ist Professorin für Kulturgeschichte an der University of Kent, Literaturkritikerin und Schriftstellerin (The Truth about Julia, Allen & Unwin, 2016).

In ihrer Monografie Exhaustion: A History (Columbia University Press, 2016) hat sie gezeigt, dass die Menschen schon immer mit Erschöpfungszuständen gerungen haben und sich vor deren sozialen und individuellen Folgen fürchteten. Immer wieder wurden zudem Erklärungsmodelle für Erschöpfungszustände – wie in der aktuellen Burnout-Debatte – mit Kultur- und Technologiekritik verbunden. Mit der Einordnung in den historischen Kontext hat sich die Darstellung von Erschöpfung in den Medien sowie die Art und Weise, wie Menschen über die heutige Erfahrung von Burnout, Stress und chronischer Erschöpfung nachdenken, verändert.

Während ihres Aufenthalts am HIAS plant Anna Katharina Schaffner ihre Monografie Self-Improvement: A Global History zu vollenden, die darlegen wird, dass Selbstoptimierung ein Grundbedürfnis des Menschen ist. Ihr Tandempartner ist Sighard Neckel, der an der Universität Hamburg eine Professur für Gesellschaftsanalyse und sozialen Wandel innehat und dort als Co-Sprecher der DFG-Kollegforschungsgruppe „Zukünfte der Nachhaltigkeit“ fungiert.

Anna Katharina Schaffners HIAS-Fellowship wird von der ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius finanziert.

Website

Anna Katharina Schaffner

Finanzierung

ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius

Tandem

Prof. Dr. Sighard Neckel, Professur für Gesellschaftsanalyse und sozialen Wandel der Universität Hamburg, dortiger Co-Sprecher der DFG-Kollegforschungsgruppe „Zukünfte der Nachhaltigkeit“

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen