2022—2023

Dmytro Mykhailychenko

International Relations, V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University

Dmytro Mykhailychenko is a historian and political scientist who started his academic career at V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University with research on political mechanisms used for the Sovietization of the Ukraine in 1919 and the people’s resistance movement. He teaches at Simon Kuznets Kharkiv National Economic University and at the Institute of Oriental Studies and International Relations at Kharkiv Collegium.

His main research interests are in the field of unconventional instruments of foreign policy influence, especially those that were and are included in the Soviet and Russian foreign policy doctrines. His focus is on public opinion and foreign policy thinking. He develops statistical and biographical approaches applicable to the analysis of generational changes in foreign policy thinking. He is the author of three books and a series of biographical publications on Soviet history.

During his HIAS fellowship, Dmytro Mykhailychenko investigates Russia’s foreign policy in its interaction with the countries of the EU, the main regional powers, and the countries of the Global South. Based on the concept of Walter Lippmann, his study suggests that public opinion in one way or another influences the very process of foreign policy formation. Hence, this involves the analysis of a discourse structure, ideologies and political minds associated with and influenced by the Russian foreign policy. And so, there is a need to consider a wide range of unconventional methods which were applied by the Soviet government in the past and are now used in a modified form by the current Russian government.

Dmytro Mykhailychenko’s collaboration partner is Cord Jakobeit, professor for Political Science, esp. International Relations and dean of the Faculty of Business, Economics and Social Sciences at Universität Hamburg.

Dmytro Mykhailychenko’s HIAS fellowship is provided by the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the federal and state funds acquired by Universität Hamburg in the framework of its Excellence Strategy.

Collaboration Partner

Cord Jakobeit, professor for Political Science, esp. International Relations; dean of the Faculty of Business, Economics and Social Sciences, Universität Hamburg

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information

2022—2023

Dmytro Mykhailychenko

International Relations, V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University

Dmytro Mykhailychenko ist ein Geschichts- und Politikwissenschaftler, der seine akademische Karriere an der V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University begann. Dort forschte er zu den politischen Mechanismen der Sowjetisierung der Ukraine im Jahr 1919 und der resultierenden Widerstandsbewegung. Er lehrt an der Simon Kuznets Kharkiv National Economic University und am Institute of Oriental Studies and International Relations des Kharkiv Collegium.

Seine Hauptforschungsinteressen gelten unkonventionellen Instrumenten der außenpolitischen Einflussnahme, insbesondere derer, die Bestandteil der sowjetischen und russischen außenpolitischen Doktrinen sind. Er entwickelt statistische und biografische Ansätze zur Analyse generationsbedingten Wandels außenpolitischen Denkens und ist der Autor von drei Büchern und einer Serie von biografischen Veröffentlichungen zur sowjetischen Geschichte.

Während seiner Zeit am HIAS untersucht Dmytro Mykhailychenko die russische Außenpolitik in ihrer Interaktion mit den Staaten der EU, den Regionalmächten und den Ländern des Globalen Südens. Auf der Grundlage des Konzepts von Walter Lippmann geht Mykhailychenkos Studie davon aus, dass die öffentliche Meinung auf die eine oder andere Weise den Prozess der Gestaltung der Außenpolitik selbst beeinflusst. Es geht also um die Analyse einer Diskursstruktur, von Ideologien und politischen Köpfen, die mit der russischen Außenpolitik verbunden sind und von dieser beeinflusst werden. Hierfür soll die Vielzahl unkonventioneller Methoden untersucht werden, die in der Vergangenheit von der sowjetischen Regierung eingesetzt wurden und in abgewandelter Form auch von der derzeitigen russischen Regierung verwendet werden.

Dmytro Mykhailychenkos Tandempartner ist Cord Jakobeit, Professor für Politikwissenschaft, insb. Internationale Beziehungen und Dekan der Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften an der Universität Hamburg.

Dmytro Mykhailychenkos HIAS-Stipendium wird von der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg und den von der Universität Hamburg im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie eingeworbenen Bundes- und Landesmitteln finanziert.

Tandempartner

Cord Jakobeit, Professor für Politikwissenschaft, insb. Internationale Beziehungen; Dekan der Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften, Universität Hamburg

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen