Oliver Schmidtke
2021—2022

Oliver Schmidtke

Political Science, University of Victoria

Oliver Schmidtke is a Professor in Political Science and History at the University of Victoria where he has also served as the director of the Centre for Global Studies since 2011. He received his PhD from the European University Institute (EUI) in Florence and has been a JF Kennedy Fellow at Harvard University, a visiting scholar at Humboldt University Berlin, a F. Braudel Senior Fellow at the EUI, and a Marie Curie Fellow at Hamburg University. Since 2006, he has led the European Studies Canada Network project promoting transatlantic research and outreach projects.

Oliver Schmidtke’s research interests are in the fields of the politics and governance of migration, citizenship, nationalism, democracy, and populism. Currently, he works on two externally funded, international research projects that investigate the link between the resurgence of (right-wing) populism and the state of liberal democracy. First, the project Populism and its Effects on Liberal Democracy asks how right-wing populist parties claim to represent the ‘voice of the people’ and express ‘popular sovereignty’. Second, the Jean Monnet Network: European Memory Politics – Populism, Nationalism and the Challenges to a European Memory Culture explores how the 20th century’s past is (re)interpreted and commemorated in contemporary political life.

During his fellowship at HIAS, Oliver Schmidtke will pursue his field research related to the research project on Populism and its Effects on Liberal Democracy. His stay at HIAS will also allow him to complete the work on two special issues of journals focussing on the nature of populist political mobilization and its effects on democratic constitutionalism. In addition, Oliver Schmidtke will collaborate with the European research networks associated with his current Jean Monnet Network on ‘European Memory Politics’ advancing the work on a monograph.

His collaboration partners are Arnd-Michael Nohl, professor for Education Science at Helmut-Schmidt-Universität Hamburg, and Antje Wiener, professor for Political Science and Global Governance, at Universität Hamburg.

Oliver Schmidtke‘s HIAS Fellowship is funded by the federal and state funds acquired by the Universität Hamburg in the framework of its excellence strategy.

Website

Oliver Schmidtke

Funding

Universität Hamburg

Tandem

Prof. Arnd-Michael Nohl, Professor for Education Science at Helmut-Schmidt-Universität Hamburg
Prof. Dr. Antje Wiener, Professor for Political Science and Global Governance at Universität Hamburg

Illustration of the project “Democracy and Populism” by the Europe Canada Network (EUCAnet), detail, www.eucanet.org

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information

Oliver Schmidtke Oliver Schmidtke
2021—2022

Oliver Schmidtke

Politikwissenschaften

University of Victoria

Oliver Schmidtke ist Professor für Politikwissenschaften und Geschichte an der University of Victoria, wo er seit 2011 auch Direktor des Centre for Global Studies ist. Er promovierte am European University Institute (EUI) in Florenz und war JF-Kennedy-Fellow an der Harvard University, Gastwissenschaftler an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, F. Braudel Senior Fellow am EUI und Marie-Curie-Fellow an der Universität Hamburg. Seit 2006 leitet er das Projekt European Studies Canada Network zur Förderung transatlantischer Forschungs- und Outreachprojekte.

Oliver Schmidtkes Forschungsinteressen liegen in den Bereichen Politik und Governance von Migration, Staatsbürgerschaft, Nationalismus, Demokratie und Populismus. Derzeit arbeitet er an zwei drittmittelfinanzierten internationalen Forschungsprojekten, die den Zusammenhang zwischen dem Wiederaufleben des (Rechts-)Populismus und dem Zustand der liberalen Demokratie untersuchen. Das Projekt Populism and its Effects on Liberal Democracy fragt zunächst, wie rechtspopulistische Parteien behaupten, die „Stimme des Volkes“ zu vertreten und „Volkssouveränität“ auszudrücken. Des Weiteren untersucht das Jean-Monnet-Netzwerk European Memory Politics – Populism, Nationalism and the Challenges to a European Memory Culture die (Neu-)Interpretierung des und das Gedenken an die Vergangenheit des 20. Jahrhunderts im gegenwärtigen politischen Leben.

Während seines HIAS-Fellowships wird Oliver Schmidtke seine Feldforschung im Zusammenhang mit dem Forschungsprojekt Populism and its Effects on Liberal Democracy verfolgen. Auch plant er, die Arbeit an zwei Sonderausgaben von Zeitschriften abzuschließen, die sich mit dem Wesen der populistischen politischen Mobilisierung und ihren Auswirkungen auf den demokratischen Konstitutionalismus befassen. Darüber hinaus wird Schmidtke die Zusammenarbeit mit den mit seinem aktuellen Jean-Monnet-Netzwerk assoziierten europäischen Netzwerken in Form einer Monografie zur europäischen Erinnerungspolitik befördern.

Seine Tandempartner sind Arnd-Michael Nohl, Professor für Erziehungswissenschaft, insbesondere systematische Pädagogik, an der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität Hamburg sowie Antje Wiener, Professorin für Politikwissenschaften, insbesondere Global Governance, an der Universität Hamburg.

Oliver Schmidtkes HIAS-Stipendium wird aus Mitteln des Bundes und des Landes Hamburg gefördert, die die Universität Hamburg im Rahmen ihrer Exzellenzstrategie eingeworben hat.

Website

Oliver Schmidtke

Finanzierung

Universität Hamburg

Tandem

Prof. Arnd-Michael Nohl, Professor für Erziehungswissenschaft, insbesondere systematische Pädagogik an der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität
Prof. Dr. Antje Wiener, Profesorin für Politikwissenschaften, insbesondere Global Governance an der Universität Hamburg

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen