2022—2023

Thiemo Breyer

Phenomenology and Anthropology, University of Cologne

Thiemo Breyer is professor of Phenomenology and Anthropology at the Department of Philosophy at University of Cologne and director of the Husserl Archive there. Previously, he was junior professor for Transformations of Knowledge at the a.r.t.e.s. Graduate School for the Humanities Cologne. Fellowships took him to the Mahindra Humanities Center at Harvard University and the Center for Interdisciplinary Research (ZiF) at Bielefeld University. He held visiting professorships in Kyoto, Milan, Mainz, and Montreal.

As a philosopher with training and continuing interests in anthropology and cognitive science, Thiemo Breyer is concerned with questions of consciousness, corporeality, emotions, and intersubjectivity from an interdisciplinary perspective. His research aims to describe and conceptualize how people – given specific socio-cultural contexts, mental schemata, and bodily habits – understand themselves, the world, and others, and how they articulate this understanding.

During his HIAS fellowship, Thiemo Breyer will examine the relationship between philosophy and ethnology with regards to the possibilities and limitations of phenomenological methods for analyses in ethnography. The traditions of phenomenological sociology and hermeneutic cultural studies are brought into dialogue with current regional field research. A thematic focus is the human capacity for empathy – not only with other people, but also with animals, natural phenomena, and spiritual entities.

His collaboration partner is Michael Schnegg, head of the Institute of Social & Cultural Anthropology, Department of Cultural History and Cultural Studies at Universität Hamburg.

Thiemo Breyer’s HIAS fellowship is provided by the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the federal and state funds acquired by Universität Hamburg in the framework of its Excellence Strategy.

Website

Thiemo Breyer

Funding

Universität Hamburg

Collaboration Partner

Michael Schnegg, head of the Institute of Social & Cultural Anthropology, Department of Cultural History and Cultural Studies, Universität Hamburg

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information

2022—2023

Thiemo Breyer

Phänomenologie und Anthropologie, Universität zu Köln

Thiemo Breyer ist Professor für Phänomenologie und Anthropologie am Philosophischen Seminar der Universität zu Köln sowie Direktor des dortigen Husserl-Archivs. Zuvor war er Juniorprofessor für Transformationen des Wissens an der a.r.t.e.s. Graduate School for the Humanities Cologne. Fellowships führten ihn an das Mahindra Humanities Center der Harvard University und das Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Forschung (ZiF) der Universität Bielefeld. Er hatte Gastprofessuren in Kyoto, Mailand, Mainz und Montreal inne.

Als Philosoph mit Ausbildungen und fortbestehenden Interessen in Ethnologie und Kognitionswissenschaft beschäftigt sich Thiemo Breyer mit Fragen des Bewusstseins, der Leiblichkeit, der Gefühle sowie der Intersubjektivität in interdisziplinärer Perspektive. Dabei geht es darum zu beschreiben und begrifflich zu erfassen, wie Menschen – angesichts spezifischer soziokultureller Kontexte, gedanklicher Schemata und körperlicher Gewohnheiten – sich selbst, die Welt und Andere verstehen und dieses Verständnis konzeptualisieren.

Während des Fellowships wird Thiemo Breyer das Verhältnis von Philosophie und Ethnologie mit Blick auf die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen phänomenologischer Analysemethoden in der Ethnographie beleuchten. Die Traditionen der phänomenologischen Soziologie und der hermeneutischen Kulturwissenschaften werden hierbei in Dialog mit aktuellen regionalen Feldforschungen gebracht. Ein thematischer Schwerpunkt bildet die menschliche Fähigkeit zur Empathie – nicht nur mit anderen Menschen, sondern auch mit Tieren, Naturphänomenen und spirituellen Entitäten.

Sein Tandempartner ist Michael Schnegg, Leiter des Instituts für Ethnologie, Fachbereich Kulturwissenschaften der Universität Hamburg.

Thiemo Breyers HIAS-Fellowship wird aus Mitteln des Bundes und des Landes Hamburg gefördert, die die Universität Hamburg im Rahmen ihrer Exzellenzstrategie eingeworben hat.

Website

Thiemo Breyer

Finanzierung

Universität Hamburg

Tandempartner

Michael Schnegg, Leiter des Instituts für Ethnologie, Fachbereich Kulturwissenschaften, Universität Hamburg

 

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen