2021—2022

Axel Metzger

Law, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Axel Metzger has been professor of Civil Law and Intellectual Property Law since 2014, in particular Industrial Property Rights at the Faculty of Law of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.
From 2017 – 2019 he was founding director of the the Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society and held a professorship at Leibniz University Hannover from 2008-2014. He regularly participates as an expert in hearings of the German Bundestag, various ministries and EU institutions on reform projects in copyright and patent law and on legal issues of digitization.

His research focuses on intellectual property law, both in the classic areas of “intellectual property” – copyright and patent law – and in newer manifestations, such as the legal protection of biotechnological innovations or data. He conducts interdisciplinary research with a special focus on international issues relating to legal protection and the regulation of innovations.

In his research project at HIAS, Axel Metzger investigates the legal and economic conditions of data markets. A special focus is on the disclosure of personal data by consumers in the context of digital services. Despite the restrictive rules of data protection law, consumers enter digital markets every day, where they disclose their data and in return benefit from the content and services offered. During his research project, Metzger examines the necessary legal framework for such a market model for data.

His collaboration partner is Prof. Florian Faust, academic director of the Center of Legal Learning and chair of Civil Law IV – Civil Law, Commercial Law and Comparative Law at Bucerius Law School.

Axel Metzger’s HIAS Fellowship is funded by the Joachim Herz Foundation.

Website

Axel Metzger

Funding

Joachim Herz Stiftung

Tandem

Prof. Dr. Florian Faust, Academic director of the Center of Legal Learning and chair of Civil Law IV – Civil Law, Commercial Law and Comparative Law at Bucerius Law School

Bildinformation

Matrix, The Matrix – Screenshot of the famous GLMatrix screensaver, © 1999-2003 by Jamie Zawinski.

Portrait of Adam Smith, available through Harvard University’s Visual Information Access (VIA) system, Vanderblue Collection

2021—2022

Axel Metzger

Rechtswissenschaft

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Axel Metzger ist seit 2014 Professor für Bürgerliches Recht und Immaterialgüterrecht, insbesondere Gewerblicher Rechtsschutz an der Juristischen Fakultät der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Er war von 2017-2019 Gründungsdirektor des Weizenbaum-Instituts für die vernetzte Gesellschaft in Berlin und hatte von 2008-2014 eine Professur an der Leibniz-Universität Hannover inne. Er nimmt regelmäßig als Experte an Anhörungen des Deutschen Bundestags, verschiedener Ministerien und EU-Institutionen zu Reformvorhaben im Urheber- und Patentrecht und zu Rechtsfragen der Digitalisierung teil.

Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Immaterialgüterrecht, und zwar sowohl in den klassischen Bereichen des „geistigen Eigentums“ – dem Urheber- und Patentrecht – als auch in neueren Erscheinungsformen, etwa dem Rechtsschutz von biotechnologischen Innovationen oder von Daten. Er forscht interdisziplinär und mit besonderem Fokus auf internationale Fragestellungen zum Rechtsschutz und zur Regulierung von Innovationen.

Axel Metzger untersucht in seinem Forschungsvorhaben am HIAS die rechtlichen und ökonomischen Rahmenbedingungen von Datenmärkten. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt dabei auf der Preisgabe personenbezogener Daten durch Verbraucher:innen im Rahmen von digitalen Dienstleistungen. Verbraucher:innen begeben sich trotz der restriktiven Regeln des Datenschutzrechts jeden Tag auf digitale Märkte, auf denen sie ihre Daten preisgeben und hierfür im Gegenzug von den angebotenen Inhalten und Dienstleistungen profitieren. In seinem Forschungsprojekt untersucht Metzger, welche Rahmenbedingungen für ein solches Marktmodell für Daten gegeben sein müssen.

Sein Tandempartner ist Prof. Dr. Florian Faust, akademischer Direktor des Zentrums fürs juristisches Lernen und Lehrstuhlinhaber für Privatrecht IV, Bürgerliches Recht, Handels- und Wirtschaftsrecht und Rechtsvergleichung an der Bucerius Law School.

Axel Metzgers HIAS-Fellowship wird von der Joachim Herz Stiftung finanziert.

Website

Axel Metzger

Finanzierung

Joachim Herz Stiftung

Tandem

Prof. Dr. Florian Faust, Akademischer Direktor des Zentrums fürs juristisches Lernen und Lehrstuhlinhaber für Privatrecht IV, Bürgerliches Recht, Handels- und Wirtschaftsrecht und Rechtsvergleichung an der Bucerius Law School

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen