Colin Colin DeYoung
2021—2022

Colin DeYoung

Personality Psychology, University of Minnesota

Colin DeYoung has been a professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Minnesota since 2008. Previously, he received his PhD in psychology from the University of Toronto and completed a postdoctoral fellowship in cognitive neuroscience at Yale University. He is currently the director of the Personality, Individual Differences, and Behavior Genetics area of his department and a member of the executive committee of the World Association for Personality Psychology. He is also co-chair of the Neurobiological Foundations workgroup in the Hierarchical Taxonomy of Psychopathology (HiTOP) consortium.

His research focuses on the structure and sources of individual differences in emotion, motivation, cognition, and behavior, using neuroscientific methods (primarily neuroimaging) to investigate their biological substrates. He has published over 100 articles in peer-reviewed scientific journals in human neuroscience, personality, clinical psychology, and psychiatry. His work is organized around his general theory of personality, Cybernetic Big Five Theory, which identifies psychological and neurobiological functions associated with major personality traits as well as their connection to other elements of personality and various life outcomes, including mental illness.

During his stay at HIAS, Colin DeYoung plans to focus on research using electroencephelography (EEG) to better understand individual differences in brain function and their association with various psychological traits. His collaboration partner is Prof. Jan Wacker from the Department of Differential Psychology and Psychological Assessment at Universität Hamburg.

Colin DeYoung’s HIAS Fellowship is provided by federal and state funds acquired by Universität Hamburg in the framework of its excellence strategy.

Website

Colin DeYoung

Funding

Universität Hamburg

Tandem

Prof. Dr. Jan Wacker, Department of Differential Psychology and Psychological Assessment at Universität Hamburg

Electroencephalogram (EEG), open access.

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information

Colin DeYoung Colin DeYoung
2021—2022

Colin DeYoung

Persönlichkeitspsychologie

University of Minnesota

Colin DeYoung ist seit 2008 Professor im Department of Psychology an der University of Minnesota. Zuvor promovierte er in Psychologie an der University of Toronto und absolvierte ein Postdoc-Stipendium in Kognitiven Neurowissenschaften an der Yale University. Derzeit ist er Direktor des Bereichs Persönlichkeit, individuelle Unterschiede und Verhaltensgenetik seines Departments und Mitglied des Exekutivkomitees der World Association for Personality Psychology. Er ist außerdem Co-Vorsitzender der Arbeitsgruppe Neurobiological Foundations im Konsortium Hierarchical Taxonomy of Psychopathology (HiTOP).

Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Struktur und Ursachen individueller Unterschiede in Emotion, Motivation, Kognition und Verhalten, wobei er neurowissenschaftliche Methoden (vor allem Neuroimaging) einsetzt, um ihre biologischen Substrate zu untersuchen. Er hat über 100 Artikel in von Experten begutachteten wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften in den Bereichen Humanneurowissenschaften, Persönlichkeit, klinische Psychologie und Psychiatrie veröffentlicht. Seine Arbeit ist um seine allgemeine Persönlichkeitstheorie, die Kybernetische Big-Five-Theorie, organisiert, die psychologische und neurobiologische Funktionen identifiziert, die mit wichtigen Persönlichkeitsmerkmalen verbunden sind, sowie deren Verbindung zu anderen Elementen der Persönlichkeit und verschiedenen Lebensergebnissen, einschließlich psychischer Erkrankungen.

Während seines Aufenthalts am HIAS plant Colin DeYoung, sich auf die Forschung mit Elektroenzephelographie (EEG) zu konzentrieren, um individuelle Unterschiede in der Gehirnfunktion und deren Zusammenhang mit verschiedenen psychologischen Merkmalen besser zu verstehen. Sein Tandempartner ist Prof. Jan Wacker vom Lehrstuhl für Differentielle Psychologie und Psychologische Diagnostik der Universität Hamburg.

Colin DeYoungs HIAS-Fellowship wird aus Mitteln des Bundes und des Landes Hamburg gefördert, die die Universität Hamburg im Rahmen ihrer Exzellenzstrategie eingeworben hat.

Website

Colin DeYoung

Finanzierung

Universität Hamburg

Tandem

Prof. Dr. Jan Wacker, Lehrstuhl für Differentielle Psychologie und Psychologische Diagnostik der Universität Hamburg

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen