2022—2023

Sol Michael Gruner

Biophysics/X-Ray Science, Cornell University

Sol M. Gruner is a biological and condensed matter physicist. From 1978 – 1997 he was on the Physics Department faculty at Princeton University. In 1997 he moved to Cornell University in Ithaca, NY to direct the Cornell High Energy Synchrotron Sources (CHESS), a position he held until 2012. He is presently the John L. Wetherill Emeritus Professor of Physics in the Physics Department at Cornell. He is a Fellow of both the American Physical Society, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, as well as a Member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

Prof. Gruner’s primary research interests are in understanding the structure and properties of biological, polymeric and soft-matter-derived materials, and in the development of novel instrumention and techniques to explore the properties of matter. He has been especially active in the development of new x-ray detectors and x-ray methods to probe biological macromolecules under high pressure conditions.

Prof. Gruner’s goals as a HIAS Fellow are two-fold:
First, to raise awareness of a paradigm shift that is altering our understanding of Earth’s biosphere; specifically, that much of the biomass of the Earth exists under extreme conditions of pressure and temperature. He would strive to educate on how structural studies of biomaterials under extreme conditions will advance this understanding.
Second, to work with colleagues at DESY to define a roadmap for x-ray detector advances required to generally extend the study of matter, and specifically study biomolecules under extreme conditions.

His collaboration partners are Prof. Heinz Graafsma, head of the Photon-Science Detector Group, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY,  and Prof. Jochen R. Schneider, reserach director emeritus at CFEL Center for Free-Electron Laser Science, Hamburg Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY.

Sol Gruner’s HIAS Fellowship is funded by the Joachim Herz Foundation.

Website

Sol M. Gruner

Funding

Joachim Herz Foundation

Collaboration Partners

Heinz Graafsma, head of the Photon-Science Detector Group, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY

Jochen R. Schneider, reserach director emeritus at CFEL Center for Free-Electron Laser Science, Hamburg Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY

Title: Effect of pressure on the structure of the citrine protein chromophore, Source: B. Barstow, N. Ando, Chae Un Kim, S.M. Gruner: Alteration of citrine structure by hydrostatic pressure explains the accompanying spectral shift. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA, 105 (2008) 13362

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information

2022—2023

Sol Michael Gruner

Biophysik/ Röntgenwissenschaft, Cornell University

Sol M. Gruner ist emeritierter Professor für Physik mit besonderem Interesse an weicher Materie und biologischen Fragestellungen, und ein Pionier auf dem Gebiet der Röntgenwissenschaften.  Von 1978 bis 1997 war er als Hochschullehrer im Fachbereich  Physik der Princeton University tätig. Im Jahr 1997 wechselte er zur Cornell University in Ithaca, NY, und übernahm die Leitung der Cornell Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle CHESS (High Energy Synchrotron Sources); eine Funktion, die er bis 2012 ausübte. Prof. Gruner ist Fellow der American Physical Society und der American Association for the Advancement of Science, sowie Mitglied der American Academy of Arts & Sciences. Heute ist er L. Wetherill-Professor Emeritus für Physik an der Cornell University.

Prof. Gruners primäre Forschungsinteressen liegen in der Erforschung von Struktur und Eigenschaften von biologischen, polymeren und aus weicher Materie gewonnenen Materialien sowie in der Entwicklung der dafür benötigten Instrumente und Techniken. Bei letzterem befasst er sich insbesondere mit der Entwicklung neuer Röntgendetektoren und von Röntgenmethoden zur Untersuchung biologischer Makromoleküle bei hohen Drucken.

Prof. Gruners Ziele als HIAS-Fellow sind zweierlei:

Erstens möchte er das Bewusstsein für einen sich abzeichnenden Paradigmenwechsel in unserem Verständnis der Biosphäre der Erde schärfen, der von dem Befund getrieben wird, dass sich ein Großteil der Biomasse unter extremen Druck- und Temperaturbedingungen befindet. Er möchte zeigen wie Strukturuntersuchungen an Biomaterialien unter extremen Bedingungen zur Etablierung dieses neuen Verständnisses der Erd-Biosphäre beitragen können.

Zweitens soll gemeinsam mit den Kollegen des DESY ein Fahrplan für die Weiterentwicklung der Röntgendetektoren erstellt werden, die für die allgemeine Erforschung der Materie und insbesondere die Untersuchung von Biomolekülen unter extremen Bedingungen erforderlich sind.

Seine Tandempartner sind Prof. Heinz Graafsma, Leiter der Photon-Science Detector Group, und Prof. Jochen R. Schneider, emeritierter Direktor für den Bereich der Forschung mit Photonen, beide vom Deutschen Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY

Sol Gruner’s HIAS Fellowship wird von der Joachim Herz Stiftung finanziert.

Website

Sol M Gruner

Finanzierung

Joachim Herz Stiftung

 

Tandempartner

Heinz Graafsma, Leiter der Photon-Science Detector Group, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY

Jochen R. Schneider, emeritierter Direktor für den Bereich der Forschung mit Photonen, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY

Title: Effect of pressure on the structure of the citrine protein chromophore, Source: B. Barstow, N. Ando, Chae Un Kim, S.M. Gruner: Alteration of citrine structure by hydrostatic pressure explains the accompanying spectral shift. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA, 105 (2008) 13362

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen