2022—2023

Cat Hope

Composition, Sound Art & Music, Monash University

Cat Hope is a classically trained flautist, self-taught vocalist, experimental bassist, composer and artistic director of Decibel new music ensemble. Her music is conceptually driven, using graphic scores, acoustic /electronic combinations and digital scores. Her music has been discussed in books such as Hidden Alliances (Schimmana, 2019), Sonic Writing (Magnusson, 2019), Loading the Silence (Kouvaris, 2013), Women of Note (Appleby, 2012), Sounding Postmodernism (Bennett, 2011) as well as periodicals such as Gramophone, The Wire, Limelight, and Neue Zeitschrift für Musik. Her 2017 monograph CD ‘Ephemeral Rivers’ (Hat[Art]Hut) won the German Record Critics prize that year, when Gramophone magazine called her “one of Australia’s most exciting and individual creative voices.” Cat is Professor of Music at Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, where she is part of the „DigiScore“ European Research Council project and leader of the music notations research group. She is the co-author of the book Digital Arts – An Introduction to New Media (Bloomsbury, 2014).

Cat Hope’s sonic practice focuses on low frequency sound in both literal and conceptual frameworks. She explores systems for creating and reading graphic notations for music that facilitate this interest, including software development as well as new compositions, improvisations, performances and more traditional research outputs. Hope also researches early Australian electronic music, composers such as Giacinto Scelsi and Fausto Romitelli, digital archiving for music, art activism and issues around gender in music.

Cat Hope’s collaboration partner is Georg Hajdu, professor of composition/ theory with a focus on multimedia composition at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg. She will be premiering her opera Speechless in conjunction with the Hochschule, as well as working with staff and students at the Hochschule during her stay. She will also compose a range of works for ensembles around Europe.

Cat Hope’s HIAS Fellowship is provided by the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the federal and state funds acquired by Universität Hamburg in the framework of its Excellence Strategy.

Website

Cat Hope

Funding

Universität Hamburg

Collaboration Partner

Georg Hajdu, Professor of Multimedia Composition, Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information

2022—2023

Cat Hope

Komponistin, Klangkünstlerin und Musikerin, Monash University

Cat Hope ist klassisch ausgebildete Flötistin, autodidaktische Sängerin, experimentelle Bassistin, Komponistin und künstlerische Leiterin des Ensembles für neue Musik Decibel. Ihre Musik ist konzeptionell ausgerichtet und verwendet grafische Partituren, akustische/elektronische Kombinationen und digitale Partituren. Ihre Musik wurde in Büchern wie Hidden Alliances (Schimmana, 2019), Sonic Writing (Magnusson, 2019), Loading the Silence (Kouvaris, 2013), Women of Note (Appleby, 2012), Sounding Postmodernism (Bennett, 2011) sowie in Zeitschriften wie Gramophone, The Wire, Limelight und Neue Zeitschrift für Musik besprochen. Ihre 2017 erschienene monografische CD „Ephemeral Rivers“ (Hat[Art]Hut) gewann in diesem Jahr den Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik, das Magazin Gramophone nannte sie „eine der aufregendsten und individuellsten kreativen Stimmen Australiens“. Cat Hope ist Professorin für Musik an der Monash University in Melbourne, Australien, wo sie Teil des Projekts „DigiScore“ des Europäischen Forschungsrats und Leiterin der Forschungsgruppe für Musiknotation ist. Sie ist Mitautorin des Buches Digital Arts – An Introduction to New Media (Bloomsbury, 2014).

Cat Hopes klangliche Praxis konzentriert sich auf niederfrequente Klänge, sowohl im wörtlichen als auch im konzeptionellen Rahmen. Sie erforscht Systeme für die Erstellung und das Lesen von grafischen Notationen für Musik, die dieses Interesse fördern, einschließlich Softwareentwicklung sowie neue Kompositionen, Improvisationen, Aufführungen und traditionellere Forschungsergebnisse. Sie erforscht außerdem frühe australische elektronische Musik, Komponisten wie Giacinto Scelsi und Fausto Romitelli, digitale Archivierung von Musik, Kunstaktivismus und Fragen zu Gender in der Musik.

Hopes Tandempartner ist Georg Hajdu, Professor für Komposition/Theorie mit dem Schwerpunkt Multimedia-Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg. Sie wird ihre Oper Speechless in Zusammenarbeit mit der Hochschule uraufführen und während ihres Aufenthalts mit Mitarbeiter:innen und Student:innen der Hochschule arbeiten. Darüber hinaus wird sie eine Reihe von Werken für Ensembles in ganz Europa komponieren.

Das HIAS-Stipendium von Cat Hope wird von der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg und den von der Universität Hamburg im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie eingeworbenen Bundes- und Landesmitteln gefördert.

Website

Cat Hope

Finanzierung

Universität Hamburg

Tandem

Georg Hajdu, Professor für Komposition/Theorie mit dem Schwerpunkt multimediale Komposiiton, Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen