2020—2021

Sophia Prinz

Cultural Sociology and Theory of Design, Berlin University of the Arts

Sophia Prinz served as visiting professor for Theory of Design/Gender Studies at the Berlin University of the Arts (UdK) from 2018 to 2020 and has been an academic advisor to the Johann Jacobs Museum in Zurich since 2013.

She works at the intersection of cultural sociology and the science of art. With an eye to a critical social theory of design, she examines the interrelationship of social and aesthetic forms.

Subsequent to her monograph Die Praxis des Sehens (The Practice of Seeing) (transcript, 2014), Sophia Prinz has dealt increasingly with the transculturalization of the worlds of things, cultural practices and collective schemes of perception within global modernity. In transdisciplinary research and exhibition projects, she pursued criticisms of Eurocentric and culturally essentialist theories of modernity. Concurrently, she developed museological concepts that address the colonial origins of collected artifacts and at the same time aim to meet the complex realities of a postmigrant audience – for example with the project “Mobile Worlds. On the Migration of Things in Transcultural Societies”, which was funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and led to an exhibition at the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg in 2018.

During her HIAS Fellowship, Sophia Prinz will work on a book project that, under the title “Migration of Form”, will expand on the concept of “form” as a general concept of cultural theory.

Her tandem partner is the art and environmental historian and cultural anthropologist Lutz Hengst, who works on landscape as a space of memory and future possibilities at the Centre for Advanced Studies “Imaginaria of Force” at Universität Hamburg.

Sophia Prinz’ HIAS Fellowship is financed by Universität Hamburg with funding by the Federal Government and the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg.

Website

Sophia Prinz

Funding

Universität Hamburg

Tandem

Dr. Lutz Hengst, Art and environmental historian and cultural anthropologist, works at Centre for Advanced Studies “Imaginaria of Force” at Universität Hamburg

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information

2020—2021

Sophia Prinz

Kultursoziologie und Theorie der Gestaltung, Universität der Künste Berlin

Sophia Prinz war von 2018 bis 2020 Gastprofessorin für Theorie der Gestaltung/Gender Studies an der UdK Berlin und ist seit 2013 als wissenschaftliche Beraterin am Johann Jacobs Museum in Zürich tätig.

Sie arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Kultursoziologie und Kunstwissenschaften. Mit Blick auf eine kritische Sozialtheorie der Gestaltung untersucht sie das Wechselverhältnis von gesellschaftlichen und ästhetischen Formen.

Im Anschluss an ihr Buch Die Praxis des Sehens (transcript, 2014) hat sich Sophia Prinz in den letzten Jahren verstärkt mit der Transkulturalisierung von Dingwelten, Praxisordnungen und kollektiven Wahrnehmungsschemata innerhalb der globalen Moderne befasst. In transdisziplinären Forschungs- und Ausstellungsprojekten betrieb sie eine Kritik an eurozentrischen und kulturessenzialistischen Modernetheorien. Parallel entwickelte sie museologische Konzepte, die sowohl die kolonialen Herkünfte der Sammlungsgegenstände adressieren als auch den komplexen Realitäten eines postmigrantischen Publikums gerecht werden, so im BMBF-geförderten Verbundprojekt „Mobile Welten – zur Migration von Dingen in transkulturellen Gesellschaften“, das 2018 in einer Ausstellung im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg mündete.
Während ihres Fellowship arbeitet Sophia Prinz an einem Buchprojekt, das unter dem Titel „Migration der Form“ den Begriff der „Form“ als allgemeines kulturtheoretisches Konzept entfaltet.

Ihr Tandempartner ist der Kunst- und Umwelthistoriker sowie Kulturanthropologe Lutz Hengst, der an der DFG-Kolleg-Forschungsgruppe „Imaginarien der Kraft“ der Universität Hamburg zur Landschaft als Speicher- und Möglichkeitsraum arbeitet.

Das HIAS-Fellowship von Sophia Prinz wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) sowie der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie von Bund und Ländern finanziert.

Website

Sophia Prinz

Finanzierung

Universität Hamburg

Tandem

Dr. Lutz Hengst, Kunst- und Umwelthistoriker sowie Kulturanthropologe, Mitarbeiter am DFG-Kolleg-Forschungsgruppe „Imaginarien der Kraft“ der Universität Hamburg

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen