2021—2022

Urban Wiesing

Medical Ethics, University of Tübingen

Urban Wiesing has been professor of Ethics in Medicine at University of Tübingen since 1998, previously he was an assistant at the Institute for Theory and History at the University of Münster.

His research focuses on medicine and philosophy, new techniques in medicine, the relationship between medicine and time, as well as medical ethics and research ethics.

Prevention has a strong reputation. It is always considered good, but basically too little is done for it. This must be questioned, with special reference to the idea of ‘time’. Prevention differs from other medical interventions by its special relationship to time. It anticipates certain negatively evaluated conditions before they materialise. Prevention offers a person a specific opportunity to shape the formative temporality of his or her own life. By behaving in the present, it can prevent the occurrence of certain phenomena that do not yet exist. But what does prevention do to our lives? And what does it do with our experience of time? What happens to our lives when it is seen as a collection of risk factors that must be avoided in order to achieve the most successful quantitative extension of lifetime? These questions are becoming more relevant in the age of accelerated sciences and accelerated change in society and the living environment.

Urban Wiesing’s collaboration partners are Prof. Dr. Philipp Osten, Debuty Head of the Institute of History and Ethics in Medicine, and Prof. Dr. Martin Scherer of the Institute of General Medicine, both at University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE).

Urban Wiesing’s HIAS Fellowship is funded by the Joachim Herz Foundation.

Website

Urban Wiesing

Funding

Joachim Herz Stiftung

Tandem

Univ-Prof. Dr. med. Philipp Osten, Debuty head of the Institute of History and Ethics in Medicine at University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE)
Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Martin Scherer, Director of the Institute of General Medcine at University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE) and president of the German College of General Practitioners and Family Physicians

The HIAS website uses cookies to best adapt the website to the needs of our visitors. When you continue browsing the site. Further information

2021—2022

Urban Wiesing

Medizinethik

Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

Urban Wiesing ist seit 1998 Professor für Ethik in der Medizin an der Universität Tübingen, zuvor war er Assistent am Institut für Theorie und Geschichte der Universität Münster.

Seine Forschungsschwerpunkten sind Medizin und Philosophie, neue Techniken in der Medizin, das Verhältnis von Medizin und Zeit, sowie die ärztliche Ethik und Forschungsethik.

Prävention hat einen fabelhaften Ruf. Sie gilt eigentlich immer als gut, und im Grunde wird immer zu wenig dafür getan. Doch dies sei hinterfragt, mit besonderem Bezug zur Zeit. Denn die Prävention unterscheidet sich von sonstigen medizinischen Interventionen durch ihr besonderes Verhältnis zur Zeit. Sie nimmt bestimmte negativ bewertete Zustände zeitlich vorweg. Mit Prävention bietet sich einem Menschen die Möglichkeit, die prägende Zeitlichkeit des eigenen Lebens in ganz besonderer Weise zu gestalten. Er kann durch Verhalten in der Gegenwart das Auftreten bestimmter, noch nicht vorhandener Erscheinungen in der Zukunft verhindern. Was aber macht Prävention mit unserem Leben? Und was macht sie mit unserem Zeiterleben? Was geschieht mit unserem Leben, wenn es als Ansammlung zu Risikofaktoren betrachtet wird, die es um einer möglichst erfolgreichen quantitativen Extension der Lebenszeit zu vermeiden gilt? Diese Fragen gewinnen im Zeitalter beschleunigter Wissenschaften sowie eines beschleunigten Wandels in Gesellschaft und Lebenswelt an Relevanz.

Seine Tandempartner sind Prof. Dr. Philipp Osten des Instituts für Geschichte und Ethik in der Medizin am Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf und Prof. Dr. Martin Scherer vom Institut für Allgemeinmedizin am UKE.

Urban Wiesings HIAS-Fellowship wird von der Joachim Herz Stiftung finanziert.

Website

Urban Wiesing

Finanzierung

Joachim Herz Stiftung

Tandem

Univ-Prof. Dr. med. Philipp Osten, Direktor des Zentrums für Psychosoziale Medizin und Professor am Institut für Geschichte und Ethik der Medizin am Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE)

Die HIAS Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Webseite bestmöglich an die Bedürfnisse unserer Besucher anpassen zu können. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Weitere Informationen